knock, knock.

Who’s there?

OH, just your rubber door mat hanging up as ART! Ch-ch-check out it folks!!!

Image

Here’s another easy easy DIY project for ya! All you need is:

  • a rubber door mat ⇢ some people say you can find these for $1 at the dollar store…however I had no such luck. I picked mine up from wally world for just under $10!
  • white spray paint (or any color you wish)
  • sandpaper (optional)
  • a few nails and a hammer

This project is literally the easiest one I’ve done yet! It was a late night project that only took about 20 minutes to dry 🙂 sweeeett!!

Here are the steps for you:

  1. pick out a rubber door mat with an awesome design
    Image
  2. also pick up some spray paint; any brand; any color (I already had some in the garage so I went with what I had)
    Image
  3. go home and follow the directions on your spray paint bottle and get to work. I did about 3-4 light coats and it was dried and ready to be sanded within 20 minutes!
    ImageImage
  4. I love the distressed look – so I took my 3M sandpaper block and roughed up the edges and the middle a little bit. You can skip this step altogether if you’d prefer, or you can go sand paper crazy and distress it a lot more than I did!
    Image
  5. FINAL STEP: once your mat is completely dry all you have to do is hang it up somewhere! TA-DA! SO SO EASY and lovely looking at the same time =] Here are some more pics of my door mat for you:
    Image

Image

Image

Image

As I mentioned before, this was a late night project for me so the lighting isn’t all that great, and I’m no photographer that’s for sure! But you get the point 🙂 I’m going to get some smaller mats and hang them vertically, side by side, in our guest room – there are many different style mats and hanging options to consider. I hope you enjoyed this one as much as I did! Let me know what you think!

-ashleigh.

4 thoughts on “knock, knock.

Leave a Reply

